Skip to main content



  • Radiology, Diagnostic - Highlights

    Learning Radiology Text Tops Best Seller Lists

    Dr. Herring's popular and best-selling textbook is now in its second edition, published by Elsevier/Saunders. The fundamental text added new content and expanded subject matter not touched upon on by the website. The book also links to 50 interactive quizzes and tutorials that reinforce the text’s contents, which are available on, Elsevier’s website for students, with purchase of the text.

    Radiologist Named Top Doc by Philadelphia magazine

    Debra Copit, MD
    Dr. Copit, a recognized "Top Doc" by Philadelphia magazine, is a fellowship-trained radiologist who dedicates her practice to breast imaging. As Director of Breast Imaging, she combines the latest technologies with a compassionate, caring approach to ensure that her patients receive the best care. Dr. Copit trains other radiologists to perform breast ultrasound and minimally invasive breast biopsies. 

    All Residents Issued Educational iPads

    All of our residents receive full-size iPads for their use while in the program that are pre-loaded with key radiology texts and other education-related applications like audience response software and StatDx. This relieves the resident from  purchasing their own copies of radiology texts (unless they wish to) and allows them the full use of all of the iPad’s features at no cost to them.

    Data Mining Software Speeds Data Collection on Teaching Cases

    The department uses a data mining software application that instantly searches all radiology reports for key words and immediately delivers lists of cases and their images relevant to the production of scholarly works or just finding examples of interesting cases. The application also can simultaneously search our pathology department’s reports to deliver results that have been pathologically proven here. Instead of lengthy chart reviews, searches now take a matter of seconds to complete.

    Einstein Residents have 11 Works Accepted at RSNA, ARRS

    Eleven abstracts, posters and presentations have been accepted or presented at the annual meetings of the Radiologic Society of North America (RSNA) and the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) over the past year. So far, two have won special awards. That’s in addition to numerous other presentations accepted at other local and national meetings and conferences.

    Digital Mammography

    The department utilizes a direct digital mammography system allowing for enterprise-wide transmission of mammographic studies and instant retrieval of historical studies. Installation of digital mammography was accompanied by an extensive physical renovation of our very busy Women’s Center and an expansion of our professional faculty. The conversion of mammography from film to digital media represented the last in the department’s total changeover to digital imaging.

    Voice Recognition Technology Speeds Reports to Clinicians

    Einstein’s Department of Radiology uses PowerScribe Voice Recognition technology to electronically transcribe reports the instant they are dictated. The system decreases report turnaround time to the clinician, and allows radiology residents to “pre-dictate” preliminary reports pending review of the case and approval of the report by a faculty radiologist.

    Filmless and Paperless - Totally PACS

    The Department of Radiology implemented a Fuji Medical Systems enterprise-wide Picture Archiving and Storage System (PACS) several years ago, and has been totally filmless and paperless in all modalities across all entities of the Einstein Network for several years. Reading Rooms were redesigned and renovated for the PACS architecture. As part of the PACS project, the Hospital installed a high-speed, fiber-optic network to carry the data. All studies and reports are available via the internet through a password-protected, web-based application.

    Web-based Radiology Learning Resource Averages Over Ten Thousand Visitors a Day

    Dr. Herring developed and maintains an award-winning, web-based learning resource at LearningRadiology is an educational site aimed at medical students and radiology residents-in-training containing lectures, lecture handouts, Cases of the Week, downloadable images, online quizzes, differential diagnosis lists and study flashcards primarily in the areas of chest, GI, cardiac, and bone radiology. The site contains a special section for medical student education. The site receives over a million visitors every year, who will access over 25 million pages of content this year and sponsors video podcasts, and a mobile version, as well. The video podcasts alone are downloaded over a thousand times each day. LearningRadiology is On Facebook and Twitter with thousands of followers. Feel free to visit the site.

    Einstein Residents Accepted into Outstanding Fellowship Programs

    Massachusetts General Hospital, Cornell, Stanford University, the University of California at San Diego, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Wake Forest University, the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Northwestern University, Emory University, the University of California at Los Angeles, Jefferson University Hospital, Duke University, and the Hospital for Special Surgery in New York are amongst the latest in a series of outstanding Fellowship programs into which our residents have been accepted. Einstein residents have always obtained premier caliber fellowships. Almost all of our graduating residents, well-above the national average, have chosen to take a post-graduate fellowship over the last 15 years.

  • Special Features


    Joanne Lee, an Einstein Radiology residency graduate, gives her top three reasons for choosing Einstein Healthcare Network for her resident education.


    See more resident videos

    Click Here