Skip to main content


Program Info



    Program Information

    Key Program Personnel

    H. Hank Simms, MD, FACS—Chairman
    Amit R.T. Joshi, MD, FACS—Residency Program Director
    Nyali Taylor, MD—Associate Residency Program Director
    Luanne Force, MD—Administrative Chief Resident
    Lauren Hook, BA—Residency Administrator

    History of the Department of Surgery

     The Albert Einstein Medical Center was founded in 1865 Philadelphia as “The Jewish Hospital.”  One of its core missions was the care of Jewish veterans of the Civil War.  In addition, in that era, it was difficult for Jewish physicians to get admitting privileges at most hospitals.  The hospital relocated to its current location in Northeast Philadelphia in the 1930s.  The intersection of Broad and Olney streets was at that time the last stop on the Broad Street line.  In 1952, the Jewish Hospital merged with central Philadelphia’s Mt. Sinai Hospital to form the Einstein Medical Center, named after the physicist, Albert Einstein.  The medical center grew in size and scope over the next 30 years, acquiring the Belmont psychiatric hospital and the Germantown Hospital.  In the 1980s, Mt. Sinai Hospital dissociated from the Center.  Einstein established an academic affiliation with Thomas Jefferson Medical College in the 1990s. Einstein also acquired Rolling Hill Hospital, in nearby Elkins Park.  In 2012, the Einstein Healthcare Network opened a new 350-bed hospital in East Norriton—Einstein Montgomery. 

    For the first 100 years of the hospital’s history, the Department of Surgery was staffed by voluntary surgeons from the community. The first full-time attending joined the department in 1985.  Over the next 30 years, the department has grown to comprise over 25 full-time attendings.  It currently has divisions of Breast, Cardiac, Surgical Critical Care/Trauma, Transplantation, and Vascular.  The department has a rich history and tradition.  Drs. Somers, Solit, Steerman, Kaplan, Greenberg, Jablon, and Liebman are alumni of the department who currently practice here. 

    Chairmen of the Department of Surgery

     1950-1955  Albert Behrend, MD, FACS
    1956-1960  Gerald Amsterdam, MD, FACS
    1961-1964  Julian Sterling, MD, FACS
    1965-1970  Morton Parriera, MD, FACS
    1970-1972  Albert Behrend, MD, FACS
    1972-1979  Aaron Bannett, MD, FACS
    1979-1981  Robert Somers, MD, FACS
    1981-1984  Victor Bernhardt, MD, FACS
    1986-2005  Robert Somers, MD, FACS
    2006-present  H. Hank Simms, MD, FACS


  • News & Announcements Best Radiologic Technologist Training Program

    This year's winner of the Best Radiologic Technologist Training Program, Albert Einstein Medical Center

    Hematology/Medical Oncology Fellowship Program

    Einstein Medical Center Philadelphia has just received ACGME accreditation for a new Hematology/Medical Oncology Fellowship Program.

    Program’s Partnership With Philadelphia University

    Einstein Medical Center Philadelphia School of Radiologic Technology has developed a partnership agreement with Philadelphia University

    PhilaSRT Student Day Competition

    Congratulations to senior students LeighAnn Sulzbach and Sarah Sliwinski for winning Third Place in the annual Philadelphia Society of Radiologic Technologists’ 2012 Student Day TechnoBowl competition

    Einstein Team of Psychiatry Residents Crowned Champions of National "Mind Games" Competition

    With fierce determination and tremendous aptitude, the team of psychiatry residents from Einstein Medical Center was crowned national champions of Mind Games, a Jeopardy-style game held at the American Psychiatric Association's (APA) annual meeting.