Skip to main content


Latest News

  • Team Einstein Honored with Osler Cup by American College of Physicians

    Published: 06/02/2014

    In celebration of Team Einstein winning their sixth medical Jeopardy-style competition called "Doctor's Dilemma," the team was presented with a replica of the Osler Cup, a longstanding tradition given to winners by the American College of Physicians. Patrick C. Alguire, MD, FACP, Senior Vice President for Medical Education from the American College of Physicians, presented the trophy. Einstein's team of medical residents has won the national competition more times than any other team in the country since the competition started 20 years ago.

    The team won in 1997, 1998, 2007, 2012, 2013, and 2014.

    To qualify for the national tournament, Team Einstein first won the regional Doctor's Dilemma Competition at the American College of Physicians' Pennsylvania Chapter, Southeastern Regional Meeting. The team then went on to win the state championship for the third consecutive year, and continued on to victory at the national tournament held in Orlando, FL.

    Photo 1: Team Einstein standing under the banner that was installed in Einstein Medical Center's Gouley Auditorium to honor the team's many victories in Doctor's Dilemma. (Shown Left to Right): Apostolos Perelas, MD (Resident Team Member), Chitra Punjabi, MD (Resident Team Member holding the Osler Cup), Jedrzej Wykretowicz, MD, PhD (Team Coach & Chief Resident), Praveen Ramakrishnan Gheetakumari, MD (Resident Team Member & Team Captain), and Mildred Garcia Rodriquez, MD (Gastroenterology Fellow).

    Photo 2: (Shown Left to Right): Steven Sivak, MD, FACP, The Paul J. Johnson Chairman, Department of Medicine, Mildred Garcia Rodriquez, MD (Gastroenterology Fellow), Patrick C. Alguire, MD, FACP, Senior Vice President for Medical Education, American College of Physicians, Glenn Eiger, MD, Associate Chairman and Program Director, Department of Medicine, Guillermo Garrido Rosa, MD (former Team Captain and Coach), Jedrzej Wykretowicz, MD, PhD (Team Coach & Chief Resident), Chitra Punjabi, MD (Resident Team Member), Praveen Ramakrishnan Gheetakumeri, MD (Resident Team Member & Captain holding the Osler Cup), and Apostolos Perelas, MD (Resident Team Member).

  • Communications Team