Skip to main content


Latest News

  • Team Einstein Victorious at National Medical Jeopardy Competition Once Again

    Published: 07/15/2013

    For two consecutive years, a team of residents from the Department of Medicine at Einstein Medical Center Philadelphia has won the prestigious national championship in the American College of Physicians’ medical jeopardy-style competition called “Doctor’s Dilemma™”. Einstein’s Department of Medicine residency is the only program in the country to win this award five times, and has been victorious five of the six times they qualified for the national competition. Team Einstein won in 1997, 1998, 2007, 2012 and 2013. This year, Team Einstein beat 36 teams from across the country at the American College of Physicians’ national scientific meeting recently held in San Francisco. 

    To qualify for the national tournament, Team Einstein first won the regional Doctor’s Dilemma Competition at the American College of Physicians’ Pennsylvania Chapter, Southeast Regional Meeting. Eight internal medicine teams participated, including those from the University of Pennsylvania, Thomas Jefferson University, Abington Memorial Hospital, Lankenau Hospital, Temple University Hospital, Christiana Hospital in Delaware, Crozer-Chester Medical Center, and Drexel University College of Medicine.

    With a win at the regional level, Team Einstein won the Pennsylvania state championship defeating a team from the UPMC Mercy Hospital from Pittsburgh and a team from Reading Hospital and Medical Center.

    During the three-day national competition, teams were asked dozens of questions pertaining to general medicine as well as gastroenterology, endocrinology, rheumatology, hematology, and other clinical areas. The final question which clinched Einstein’s victory was:
    What is the name of the diagnostic imaging test for hepatopulmonary syndrome?
    Einstein’s winning answer: Contrast Echocardiogram.

    Team Einstein was awarded a replica of the Osler Cup (shown in photo), a longstanding tradition given to the winners by the American College of Physicians. The original Osler Cup with engraved names of each year’s winners resides at the American College of Physicians in Philadelphia. 

    Following the competition the team posed with the Osler Cup. Included in the photo-op were (left to right) Steven Weinberger MD, FACP (CEO of the American College of Physicians), Glenn Eiger MD, FACP, Associate Chair and Program Director, Department of Medicine, Chitra Punjabi MD, Apostolos Perelas MD, Praveen Ramakrishnan Gheetakumari MD, Jedrzej Wykretowicz MD, PhD, Guillermo Garrido Rosa MD (team coach) and Steven Sivak MD FACP, Chair of Department of Medicine. 

    A true melting pot, members of Team Einstein represent five different countries of origin:
    Poland, Philippines, Greece, India and Venezuela.

  • Communications Team